Skip to main content

Send self-destructing messages from your work computer

How do you send personal or silly messages while sitting at your work computer? A new browser app offers Snapchat-like "off the record" messaging.

Much like the vanishing photos sent withSnapchat, a new Web app lets you send self-destructing messages from your work computer.
New York-based app maker Lamplighter Gameslast week launched OTR -- for "off the record" messaging -- a browser plug-in that lets you send messages that disappear within 5 seconds of being read.
"We both love using Snapchat, so we thought it would be fun to put Snapchat in the browser," according to Kris Minkstein, who co-founded the company with his brother Andy. "We figured since you're in front of your computer all day at work that you're going to end up sending a lot of these photos to probably the guys sitting next to you at your cubicle."
With Snapchat, if someone takes a screenshot of your picture before it disappears in 10 seconds, the app will notify you. But Web sites like "Snapchat Leaked" are cropping up, and Utah-based Decipher Forensics will recover those vanished snaps for $300.
Kris Minkstein says the company is in no way guaranteeing the messages on OTR can't be recovered if, say, the human-resources department decided to hire a digital forensics expert to retrieve them. OTR, he says, is meant for having fun: "It's not meant for ultra-secure communications or anything crazy like that."
OTR follows Wickr's self-destructing texts, pictures, and videos and Efemr's tweets with expiration dates. People are getting more and more frustrated with sharing things that live forever on the Web, Kris Minkstein says. "If anything, you're going to see more of this. It's here to stay."
An early version (then called ChapSnat) was presented at the TechCrunch Hackathon last month. OTR is available for Chrome, with other versions coming soon. Watch a demo video of OTR here.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How to boot directly to the desktop in Windows 8.1

The Windows 8 Start screen is a good starting point for Windows 8 devices with touch screens, but on PCs with standard screens, you might prefer to boot directly to the desktop. Previously, you could bypass the Windows 8 Start screen with Start8, but Windows 8.1 now lets you do it natively. Here's how:
Step 1: Right-click on the Windows 8.1 taskbar, then choose Properties.
Step 2: Click on the Navigation tab, then under the Start screen section, check the box next to "Go to the desktop instead of Start when I sign in."



The next time you boot Windows 8.1, you'll go straight to the desktop without ever seeing the Start screen.

Get two free months of Next Issue unlimited digital magazines

Slowly but surely, Next Issue is getting better.
The service slings unlimited digital magazines to your tablet (or Windows 8-powered PC) for a flat monthly rate, and its catalog is closing in on 100 titles (quite a jump from the 40 or so it offered when it first launched about a year ago).
Haven't tried it yet? Now's your chance to double the usual test-drive deal: StackSocial is offering a two-month Next Issue Premium subscription for free. Normally that would run you $30.
Let me get one big caveat out of the way right now: This offer is for new customers only.
Next Issue is available in app form for Android, iPad, and Windows 8. (Alas, it's still not available for Kindle Fire or Nook HD.) I've tried it on all three platforms, though most of my real-world usage happens on my iPad 3. Android users will be glad to know there's now parity with the iOS version, meaning you should be able to get the full catalog of available magazines. As for Windows 8, I must admit I…

Quickly fix Dropbox permissions errors in OS X

Dropbox is one of the more popular cloud-based syncing and storage tools, and offers Mac users a convenient way to transfer files from one system to another, or share files with colleagues. Dropbox can sometimes give you errors, saying that it cannot transfer something because it does not have permission to access some of the files being copied. If this happens, then it could be because of an improper permissions setup with the Dropbox configuration files in your account, or with the files currently being copied. If a permissions error such as this occurs, then the first thing that might come to mind is to use Disk Utility's Permissions Fix routine. But this only affects access permissions on system files and installed applications, and will not touch files in your user account. Holding the Option key in the Account section of the preferences will show the "Fix Permissions" option, instead of the standard option to unlink the current computer.) Instead, for Dropbox-spec…